PÁLFFY PALACE - GENIUS LOCI
Pálffy Palace Restaurant was established in 1994 on the second floor of the Pálffy Palace building. When entering the restaurant visitors will be enchanted by the inimitable period interior underlining the magical atmosphere of the place. During the summer months visitors can enjoy the comfortable terrace with a stunning view of Prague Castle, the Pálffy Gardens and Small Furstenberg Palace. The restaurant has two adjacent halls – the large mirror hall and a lounge, both suitable for wedding and corporate parties as well as variety of other social events.
Pálffy Palace is one of the most famous baroque buildings in the capital. It came into existence following the adjoining of two buildings at the beginning of the 18th century and it has been gradually reconstructed since 1808. In 1853, general reconstruction was executed and the building took its current shape. The name of the palace originates from 1881 when Eduard Pálffy, the earl of Erdor, bought the building. Later he sold the building to the state for the purposes of state holder ship archive and a mounted police station. Between 1918 and 1946 the palace served as the archive of the Ministry of Internal Affairs. In 1989 it was acquired by the Ministry of Culture and in 1992 it was leased to the Prague Conservatory as compensation for the premises in the newly renovated Rudolfinum.